Gold Shirt for New Year’s

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy

I used some of my Christmas money to buy sewing and cosplay supplies, which included some sweet gold and black knit fabric. It feels a little like sweater material, and not as rough as it looks. With New Year’s on the way (I bought the fabric the day after Christmas), I decided to make a party shirt. Here’s what I did:

Drafting the Pattern

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy, dress, trace, tissue, paper, pattern, making

I traced a dress I have that fits me well in order to make the shirt pattern. Of course, my shirt pattern didn’t use the whole length of the dress – I just stopped where I wanted the shirt to end.

The back neckline is one of my favorite features of the dress, which is why I decided to trace it. It drops low, showing off my shoulder blades.

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy, style, fashion, design, ruler, tissue, paper, pattern, making

I started with a rough sketch, which I then refined using my new styling/fashion ruler. Next, I added seam allowance and cut the pattern in half – I’ll cut my fabric on the fold.

For the back piece, I used the front pattern, but lowered the neckline.

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy, style, fashion, design, tissue, paper, pattern, making

I drew the sleeve pattern to be long, but I didn’t end up having enough fabric. So, I just made this a short-sleeve shirt instead.

Sewing

Once I cut out the front and back and two sleeves, I started sewing. I started by attaching the front and back pieces at the shoulders.

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy, style, fashion, design, tissue, paper, pattern, making, sleeve

Next, I attached the sleeves to the arm holes. Going in this order allows me to easily make adjustments to the arm hole. It’s a good thing, too, because my arm hold ended up being longer than my sleeve. But it was a simple fix later when I sewed up the shirt sides and bottom of the sleeve – I just cut off the access fabric from the side of the shirt.

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy, style, fashion, design, tissue, paper, pattern, making, sleeve, sewing

I then hemmed the sleeves and serged up the sides of the shirt and bottom of the sleeve.

With that, the shape of the shirt was basically done, but I had some refining to do. To finish the neckline, I cut a piece of the fabric out of some scraps. I folded the long strip in half, wrong sides together, and serged the raw edges together. Then, I attached the serged edge of the strip to the right side of the raw edge of my neckline.

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy, style, fashion, design, tissue, paper, pattern, making, sleeve, sewing, neckline

Because the strip was shorter than the circumference of my neckline, I pulled the strip while sewing to stretch it out. With that in place, I top stitched the shirt fabric down. That way, it laid nice and flat.

The final step was hemming the bottom.

The Finished Shirt

how, to, make, sew, gold, shirt, sparkle, sparkly, new, year's, eve, year, party, diy

This project was easy and fun – it took an afternoon to complete. Plus, I got a sparkly shirt for New Year’s! Even though I wanted this to be long-sleeved, I’m still happy with how it turned out. The back is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

