Titans Noir Cosplay: Group Photos

teen-titans-season-4-screenshot-3

My friends and I wore 1940s-inspired Teen Titans cosplays to GenCon 2016. I’ve already posted about how I made my costume (Starfire), and I wanted to share what all of our outfits looked like.

Shoot Location

So we did a quick photo shoot between running panels at GenCon. We had about an hour and were lucky enough to spot this dark alley beneath a bridge. I didn’t have the time to scout out a location ahead of time, but I saw the bridge area through the window of the convention center and decided to give it a shot. It worked out great!

I was worried it would be a little dark, but enough sunlight came through that the spot was actually perfect.

The only bummer is that we couldn’t get a group shot. Chris photographed me and Taylor, and I photographed Chris. We didn’t have anyone around who wasn’t in the group. Se la vie!

Our Group

Originally, we had all five Titans covered, but life got in the way. Our friend who was going to do Beast Boy had to drop out of the convention last minute (next year, Tony!). Our Raven was running a tournament the day we dressed up, so he (yeah, genderbending) had to sit out, too. That left Starfire, Cyborg and Robin.

Even without everyone present, I still think the costumes read well. Maybe we’ll get the whole gang together in the future – one can hope!

Robin

robin, teen, titans, cosplay, genderbend, genderbent, gender, bent, femme, noir, film, 1940s, vintage, inspired

Playing the caped crusader was my friend Taylor. She did a femme version inspired by the film noir detective trope.

robin, teen, titans, cosplay, genderbend, genderbent, gender, bent, femme, noir, film, 1940s, vintage, inspired

We went thrifting together to build her costume, which included dark, mossy green pants, a brilliant red blouse, a black trench coat, green gloves and, of course, a fedora. Taylor also made an “R” badge and a mask. All of the clothing we found had that vintage look. I’m impressed with how perfect each piece was, given that we thrifted them. Though, Taylor has a knack for spotting these things.

Cyborg

cyborg, teen, titans, cosplay, film, noir, vintage, 1940s, inspired

Chris did a sort of steampunk take on Cyborg to make him the tech guy in our ’40s group. We also thrifted his costume and found a gray vest, blue button-up and white loafers. Chris added things he already owned to the mix, including a gray fedora, black pants and various steampunk accouterment.

cyborg, teen, titans, cosplay, film, noir, vintage, 1940s, inspired

We talked about making a red monocle to mimic the red eye Cyborg has in the show, but ran out of time.

Starfire

Starfire, teen, titans, cosplay, crossover, vintage, film, noir, inspired 1940s

I’ve already talked about what went into my Starfire costume, so I’ll talk do a postmortem here instead. On the whole, I loved this outfit. I felt great in it and it accomplished what I wanted it to. However, as with any project, there are things I would do differently.

Starfire, teen, titans, cosplay, crossover, vintage, film, noir, inspired 1940s

The shoes are slightly more saturated than the rest of the outfit, so I would repaint them to be a little dustier.

Additionally, some of the seams on the dress didn’t match up perfectly. If I had more time, I would have reworked them to get it just right.

Leave a Reply

