BotW Link Cosplay: The Quiver

quiver, leather, legend, of, zelda, cosplay, how, to, make, a, breath, of, the, wild, zelda, u, loz, worbla

Guys! This is the last part of my Link cosplay making-of series! I’ll have some final photos to share, but the costume is done. This one took awhile. But before I get ahead of myself, here’s how I made the quiver:

False Starts

The quiver was the last thing I did, mostly because I didn’t decide to make it until a month before my deadline and I wasn’t sure how to do it. Initially, I was going to sew a fabric quiver using thick canvas and interfacing. However, that wasn’t working for me. The fabric kept buckling and I didn’t think it would match the rest of the costume, so I ultimately scrapped the plan.

Then I bought PVC pipe, but I didn’t like how round, long and thick it was. I didn’t get far with that plan.

Finally, I decided to use the scraps of Worbla I had left to craft a plastic tube and cover it in leather.

The Actual Quiver

worbla, quiver, link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, craft, foam

I didn’t have enough Worbla for the sandwich method, so I just cut the outer facing and wrapped it around my foam halves.

worbla, quiver, link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, craft, foam

Then I pressed the Worbla together at the seams. The pattern is basically three parts: the front, back and bottom.

quiver, worbla, craft, foam, diy, cosplay, cosplayer, link, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild

While the Worbla was warm, I shaped it into an oval cylinder. Once cool, I used bookbinding glue to attach the leather.

quiver, worbla, craft, foam, diy, cosplay, cosplayer, link, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild

This method was quick to execute. I didn’t have to cover the Worbla in wood glue or sand it because I wasn’t painting – I just covered the whole thing. In all, the Worbla quiver only took me a couple of hours if you include dry times.

Finishing Touches

I needed a way to attach my quiver to my belt, so I used some darker faux leather to make straps, which I also attached with glue. I did sew the straps together to make loops, though.

Finally, I felt like the quiver was a little too simple, so I made fake rivets out of googly eyes. I simply painted them black, let them dry, then painted a thin coat of silver. I attached those to the straps with hot glue.

link, quiver, legend, of, zelda, cosplay, breath, of, the, wild, worbla, craft, foam

You can see one of the “rivets” fell off. I don’t know at what point it happened, but I’ll have to go back and fix that before I wear this costume again.

The final product definitely works and matches the rest of my costume. It’s not the best craftsmanship, but it was good for now. If I ever get good at actual leatherworking, I might revisit this piece.

One thought on “BotW Link Cosplay: The Quiver

  1. Pingback: BotW Link Cosplay Postmortem | The Pen and Needle

Leave a Reply

