BotW Link Cosplay: Accessories

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, leather, costume, gloves

In typical Link fashion, the BotW ensemble includes a variety of accessories. I’ve already written posts about the belt bag I made, but I’ve also worked on a few other things, including his cross-body belt and gloves.

Belt

breath, of, the, wild, screen shot, cosplay, costume, belt, legend, of, zelda, link

Link is featured wearing a belt across his chest, which holds his shield and sword. Another part of the belt wraps around the other side of his body.

To create this look, I bought a belt at a thrift store and a scrap piece of leather. I put on the belt, then marked where I wanted to attach the scrap.

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, belt, leather, costume

Then, I punched a hole through both pieces and secured them together using upholstery tacks. I used two tacks for every fastener, gluing them together for extra security. The construction isn’t traditional, but I didn’t want to spend money on actual rivets when I could jury rig it for free (yeah, budget!).

I also noticed that the shoulder part of the belt has an extra layer of padding. For that part, I used the leftover handle from the purse I transformed into the belt bag – don’t waste anything!

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, belt, leather, costume

Overall, it fits well and looks pretty good.

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, belt, leather, costume

Fun fact: This is what I wear while working on cosplay on the hottest day of the year.

Gloves

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, leather, costume, gloves

I recently went to the renaissance faire and purchased leather from one of the shops. I used that material to sew my gloves.

Now, I hate sewing gloves; it’s tedious, tricky and even more complicated with leather. But, I survived.

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, leather, costume, gloves, pattern, vogue

I used the same pattern I referenced for my Impa gloves, so check out that post for the details. The only real difference is that I didn’t make these gloves as long. Also, I decided to leave the edges raw because it just looks cool that way.

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, leather, costume, gloves

Leave a Reply

