BotW Link Cosplay: The Pants

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, wii u, zelda u, sewing, pants, diy, pattern

When planning this cosplay, I assumed the pants would take awhile because they’re more complex than the other pieces. However, the whole process was actually a helluva lot of fun!

Pattern

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, wii u, zelda u, sewing, pants, diy, pattern

I bought a slim-leg pants pattern from Joann for this garment. I don’t have enough experience with pants to draft my own. This one was straightforward and easy to follow, which probably helped keep the process smooth.

I cut out the size 12 – definitely read the measurements and suggestions on the back, as the pattern runs large.

Fabric

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, wii u, zelda u, sewing, pants, diy, pattern

I wanted a denim fabric that was both sturdy and stretchy, so I went with a blend that’s 90-something percent cotton and a couple percent spandex (I don’t remember the exact ratio).

The only fabric available at Joann was stark white – not the cream color Link has in my reference images. So, I dyed it! I used Rit in tan.

In the photo, you can see the original fabric on the right and the dyed-tan version on the left.

To dye the fabric, I put it in a tub with cold water and the full bottle of Rit. I let it soak, occasionally stirring, for half an hour. I then thoroughly washed by hand with hot water and detergent.

Sewing

link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, breath, of, the, wild, wii u, zelda u, sewing, pants, diy, pattern

So, the size 12 was a little big, and I ended up taking in the outer seams. However, the rest of the sewing went well. I only had to make the sizing adjustment at the end.

I also nixed the zipper the pattern calls for in favor of laces – I thought it would look more in-line with the rest of the costume design. To do that, I used the same setting on my machine as I did for the tunic.

I also used my serger to finish all of the seams.

Overall, these pants fit great, they’re comfortable and I can move in them. I don’t have photos of me wearing them yet, but I’ll eventually shoot something with the finished pieces on.

Leave a Reply

