Wii U Link Cosplay: Cutting the Wig

wii, u, link, cosplay, legend, of, zelda, wig

I’ve been making good progress on Link’s tunic, but before I go into that, I wanted to share what I did with the wig! Cutting it was a nice break from the more rigorous work of sewing, and I had a lot of fun with it.

The Wig

arda, wig, magnum, classic, ginger, blonde, link, cosplay

I purchased my wig from Arda, since I really like this company (that’s Arda’s photo above), and it originated in Chicago, so I gotta show local love!

I got the Magnum Long Classic in Ginger Blonde because it’s long enough to form the ponytail the new Link is rocking, but it also has short layers on top. Overall, I’m very happy with my choice. Plus, I wrote in my order that I was using the wig to dress as Link, and Arda drew the triforce on my receipt – daww!

Some Simple Changes

link, wii, u, cosplay, diy, wig, arda, wigs, styling, style

I really didn’t have to do much to alter the wig. In its out-of-the-box state, my only complaint was that there was too much hair obscuring my face. So, I decided to trim the bangs.

In the above photo, you can really see the layers. It’s a very beautiful wig, so I was sort of sad to cut it, but that’s how the cookie crumbles, I guess.

The greatest challenge was cutting in a straight line when all that (synthetic) hair was covering my eyes. However, I made it work!

Wii, u, link, legend, of, zelda, cosplay, wig, diy, style, styling, cutting

I then used my curling iron to give the hair a little more shape. And that was it! Super easy and fun.

Wii, u, link, legend, of, zelda, cosplay, wig, diy, style, styling, cutting

I still want to do some work on this – mostly just spike the layers and give them a fuller, more tussled look. However, that can wait.

9 thoughts on “Wii U Link Cosplay: Cutting the Wig

  1. Correct me if I’m wrong, but is the color of the wig you’re using light copper red? I looked at the link in your post and that’s the closest color I could find when comparing it to the picture you provided. I’m also planning on doing a Breath of the Wild Link cosplay (I’m almost done making it), but the wig was the one thing I was having trouble with finding as I’ve never bought a wig before. I wanted to find the right one. I’ve always used my natural hair for an other cosplay I’ve done. I really need to procure a wig by the end of the month. Please respond whenever you can. Thank you! 🙂

    • Hey Matt! The color is actually ginger blonde, but close! It’s awesome you’re also cosplaying Link. I can’t wait for the game to release! 😀 I’d love to see how your costume is coming along. Good luck wig hunting.

      • Unfortunately, just as with the light copper red wig, the ginger blonde is also on backorder. I really need the wig by the end of the month. If the site’s backorder schedule for either style is to be believed, it will be too late. I might just have to find a wig somewhere else. Thanks anyways! I don’t do WordPress, but I could post pictures of my finished cosplay on Twitter. I’ll leave a link to it when that time comes. Good luck with finishing the your Link cosplay as well! 🙂

      • Gotcha. Yeah my wig was on back order when I bought, but it came quickly. Though I understand not wanting to chance it.

      • It honestly looked long enough to put in a ponytail, but then again, I’m not a wig expert. I’ll take some time to think about it and order the wig tomorrow. Thanks again! If you have any other wigs you could suggest, feel free to let me know. 🙂

      • I’ll keep my eyes open. I’ve only ever bought from Arda, so I don’t have good alternatives to suggest. :/

Leave a Reply

