Quick Dress Project

sewing, red, dress, diy, pattern, how, to, sew, cocktail, wedding, guest

As you’ve probably noticed, I took a hiatus from working on my cosplay. I was making a dress to wear to a friend’s wedding. I only had a couple of weeks to do it, so I didn’t really stop to take photos, but I do have the final product.

The Pattern

With a mere two week’s worth of sewing time, I went through patterns and fabric I already owned, looking for something easy. I ended up choosing a pattern by “See and Sew.” I don’t remember where I got it, but I think it was given to me.

pattern, sewing, dress, wedding, guest, how, to, sew, diy

It’s a princess dress (no waist seam, but with a flared silhouette) that came with two neckline/sleeve options: sleeveless with a boat neck or short sleeve with a cowl neck. I ended up going with the latter.

Some Issues

I picked this pattern because it’s pretty basic. However, it did not end up going as smoothly as I had hoped. I cut out the smallest size on the pattern – size 6 – but the dress ended up being massive anyway. I spent half my sewing time taking in and adjusting seams.

As you might imagine, all the adjustments ended up making the final dress a little wonky. Tip: If you have to take in a garment, adjust every seam evenly! If you don’t, the seams won’t line up right on your body. In my rush to finish, I was not careful about taking in left and right seams the same amount, and everything is a little twisted.

Additionally, I cut off the sleeves and made the dress sleeveless. Because I had to take everything in, the sleeves ended up being way too small. Plus, I prefer sleeveless dresses.

The Final Product

My favorite parts of the dress are the fabric (serious, I love the print) and the cowl neck. This dress is not even close to perfect. I wish I had more of this fabric so I could go back and revise a lot of my mistakes. But, alas, I do not.

Despite all of the problems I know exist, the dress still looks pretty good. I got a lot of compliments and I finished it in time to wear to the wedding.

I’m trying to look at this quick job as a lesson or practice – basically, something positive.

And now I get to go back to cosplay. Stay tuned for updates to my Link outfit. I’m almost done with the tunic.

4 thoughts on “Quick Dress Project

  1. Great job with the tailoring Jen. First time I made an actual clothing item (which was a rather complicated) it was also so big that there was no way I was ripping it apart and cutting every piece down to size. Keep up the good work.

    Diane AJ

Leave a Reply

