How to Make Bias Tape

how, to, make, bias, tape, sewing, diy, linen

I normally purchase bias tape, but I decided to make it for my Wii U Link cosplay – Joann doesn’t carry linen tape, and I was using that fabric to make Link’s undershirt. Fortunately, bias tape is actually easy to make. In case you want to save some money or ensure your tape matches your garment, here’s how to do it:

First, What’s Bias Tape?

Bias tape is a long, continuous strip of fabric that’s been cut on a bias. Woven fabrics consist of fibers the are laid out in perpendicular lines, like a plus sign. Because of this, they are pretty rigid and not stretchy. However, you can find some stretch when you pull diagonally.

Bias tape is cut on this diagonal, then folded to give an edge that doesn’t have frays.

1. Fold the Fabric

First, cut a rectangle out of your chosen fabric so you can fold it. Mine didn’t end up being a perfect square, but it was close enough.

how, to, make, bias, tape, sewing, diy, linen

Next, fold the fabric on a diagonal, creating a triangle shape. I brought one corner down to another, then repeated.

how, to, make, bias, tape, sewing, diy, linen

The triangle shape allows you to cut the fabric on a perfect diagonal, or bias.

2. Cut the Strips from the Triangle

One side of your triangle will be your cutting edge. The first piece I cut off was not the one I used for my tape. This is because it’s cut on a fold. I did not want that.

The second, and every piece after that, however, was ideal for tape.

how, to, make, bias, tape, sewing, diy, linen

3. Sew the Strips

To create the continuous strip required for bias tape, I had to sew the pieces together. You’ll notice that after cutting the fabric, you the ends are diagonal. Place the ends over each other and sew together.

how, to, make, bias, tape, sewing, diy, linen

4. Fold and Iron

I folded and ironed the tape at the same time. Normally, you’d use a tool that does the folding for you, but I don’t have one, and I didn’t feel like leaving my apartment to go get one (hurray for being lazy!).

Instead, I folded the fabric by hand and pressed it.

You’ll need to make three folds: Fold the sides in, and then fold again. After pressing in the folds, you have bias tape!

how, to, make, bias, tape, sewing, diy, linen, iron

Leave a Reply

