Kill Bill Volume 1: Halloween

kill, bill, uma, thurman, yellow, black, mamba, the, bride, halloween

If you’re wondering I’ve been over the last month, I have an answer: working on my Halloween costume. See, my office is serious about All Hallow’s Eve, which means we have a party, complete with costume contest. The prize for winning isn’t bad either – who doesn’t love extra days off?

This, along with my love for sewing, necessitated I – ahem – bring it!

In case you haven’t seen a pattern in my cosplay choices, I generally portray strong women – and few are more bad ass than Uma Thurman in “Kill Bill.” Not only is the film among my favorite, but there’s something so satisfying about the thought donning the black-and-yellow-Bruce-Lee suit.

Procrastinating

I usually take a break after each project, but I didn’t have the time to dilly dally after finishing the circle skirt. Trying to push myself to work while burnt out didn’t go so well, and I I totally procrastinated with this piece.

About a month ago, I picked up all the supplies I’d need, including patterns – I would have made my own, but that takes a lot longer than using pre-made patterns.

I took the jacket from one and the pants from the other.

patterns, halloween, sewing, costume, cosplay, crafting, diy

Quick Construction

Fast forward to two weekends before the big day. I had only cut the patterns. As you can imagine, I rushes through the whole thing, staying up until 1 a.m. the night before the party.

The final product looks alright – it’s easy to tell who I’m supposed to be. However, both the pants and jacket are not up to my normal standards. Of course, when you’re ripping seams on a second wind, you don’t really give a shit how good the lines work. They just have to come together, dammit!

kill, bill, halloween, costume, cosplay, sewing, diy, kick, ass, uma, thurman, quintin, tarantino

That being said, I’d love to revisit this cosplay again in the future – when I have more time, money and energy. For now, it’ll have to do.

Kill, Bill, uma, thurman, halloween, costume, cosplay, strong, female, lead, sewing, diy

Things I’ve Learned

  • Adding a lining isn’t as easy as it sounds.
  • Check your bobbin tension before you sew.
  • Tighter isn’t always better.
  • Plan you pattern deviations.
  • Always factor in undergarments.
  • Movement freedom is priority No. 1.
Leave a Reply

