From Cosplay to Fashion

linen, fabric, sewing, water, colored, color, watercolor, paint, floral, print, red

Since January, I’ve been working on cosplay. Since I finished the character, now I want to shift gears into fashion. I found some beautiful linen fabric that I’ll be making a line of pieces out of, starting with a dress.

The Dress

I originally found a dress on Pinterest that I added to my board, and while it had many features I loved, a few weren’t quite in line with my tastes. So, I took that dress and reworked it to suit my style a bit more. That’s what I’ll be making first with the bolt of fabric I bought.

dress, sketch, fashion, pleats, sewing

From my first sketch, you can see it has sleeves, a fairly basic bodice and a combination skirt that’s both straight and pleated. I thought it was a pretty unique look. Plus, I haven’t done a lot of pleating work, and this will be a good challenge for me

My Work Thus Far

draping, dress, fashion, construction, sewing, garment,, red, creative

In addition to sketching, I’ve draped my pattern. I always work in four steps: I pre-drape, in which I place a big sheet of fabric on my form, refine, which requires cutting and marking, build the pattern off the rough drape, and then make a mock up.

draping, dress, fashion, construction, sewing, garment,, red, creative

This iterative process ensures the actual piece is accurate and clean. Today, I pre-draped and refined.

draping, dress, fashion, construction, sewing, garment,, red, creative

I uses a cheap, on-sale fabric to drape with to save my good fabric, which is why you see different fabrics in my photos.

Stay tuned for some progress!

2 thoughts on “From Cosplay to Fashion

    • Just keep practicing! Also, the more you use patterns, the more familiar you’ll become with construction, and that makes draping easier. At least, that’s what I’ve found.

Leave a Reply

