Impa’s Gloves

impa, cosplay, hyrule, warriors, legend, of, zelda, gloves, fingerless, glove, sewing, pattern, opera

I’ve finished yet another piece of my Impa cosplay! (If you’ve been following my progress at all, you’ve probably notice there are a lot of steps to this thing.) I worked on the gloves little by little, and after stitching some details during a road tip, they’re done! And let me tell you, sewing in a moving vehicle takes some coordination.

Gloves are Hard

I used a pattern to make these gloves because I’ve never stitched any before – hurray for new experiences! As you can see from my photo, the pattern had me cut a mitten shape out, then slice down each finger.

gloves, sewing, fingerless, glove, pattern, impa, cosplay, hyrule, warriors, legend, of, zelda, costume

The pattern piece in the top left includes pieces that go between each finger. The top right is the thumb, and the bottom piece is the body of the glove.

I sewed one glove at a time, and the first one was definitely a learning experience. I started this project in my last apartment, before I made that cocktail dress, so I was worried that I’d have to relearn everything when I started the second glove. Fortunately, I remembered what I had figured out, and the other glove went much faster.

Finger by Finger

Between each finger are small strips of fabric I had to sew in, so this was a tedious process. I finished the seam on the thumb before attaching it, but not for the other fingers. For those, I sewed the complete fingers, then snipped them off after the glove was done – Impa’s gloves are fingerless.

I recently went on a road trip vacation, and I finished the finger edges by hand when I wasn’t driving. I used a basic rolled hem.

impa, cosplay, hyrule, warriors, legend, of, zelda, gloves, fingerless, glove, sewing, pattern, opera

The Details

From my research of Impa, I noticed that her gloves have these X-shaped stitches down the seams, so I recreated that using a blue/violet thread.

impa, cosplay, hyrule, warriors, legend, of, zelda, gloves, fingerless, glove, sewing, pattern, opera

I think the final gloves are pretty good, especially for my first time making a garment with such a tedious garment. I don’t know that I want to make gloves again any time soon, but we’ll see.

One thought on “Impa’s Gloves

  1. Pingback: BotW Link Cosplay: Accessories | The Pen and Needle

Leave a Reply

