My New Serger

serger-sewing-singer-stylist-machine

In my last post, I mentioned that I had ordered a serger. Well, it has arrived! I purchased the Singer 14J250 Stylist II from Amazon and it came with three extra feet.

Big and intimidating

I’ve had my sewing machine for eight years, so I’m very comfortable with it. Comparatively, the serger looked scary. It’s much heavier than my other machine and, of course, there’s the issue of having twice as many threads. I decided I didn’t want to go it alone, so I took a class today.

Once I set it up, I sat on a stool staring this thing down thinking, “What the hell did I get myself into?”

The instructor showed me how to thread the beast (as my serger will henceforth be known), then had me do it a few times on my own. Fortunately, it was not as bad as I initially feared. Here’s a look at the inside of the machine where I thread my two loopers (sorry it’s so grainy):

how-to-thread-a-serger-looper-upper-lower-sewing

Learning stitches

Once I started peddling, I felt way more at ease with the beast – using a sewing machine for so long really did prepare me better than I thought. It’s hard to sew slowly on this machine though. It just seems to want to zoom forward.

My instructor and I played around with the dials a lot to see what settings work best for my machine. Here’s the four-thread overlock:

serger-sewing-singer-stylist-machine-four-thread-overlock-stitch

The three-thread overlock:

serger-sewing-singer-stylist-machine-three-thread-overlock-stitch

And a rolled hem:

serger-sewing-singer-stylist-machine-rolled-hem

I jotted down the settings I used for each stitch right on the fabric. That way, I can use the scraps as reference when setting up to serge.

We also messed around with a blind hem, gathering and adding cord.

I had a lot of fun taming the beast and I look forward to using the serger on my dress. That’ll be my next post, so stay tuned! I haven’t been posting much lately because I’m also building a petticoat and I want to make it one post. When that’s done, you’ll see it on my blog.

Leave a Reply

