A Bit of Reflection

Me and my mom out to dinner with the extended family.

Me and my mom out to dinner with the extended family.

This past weekend, I drove up to Michigan with my mom to attend my cousin’s college graduation. The whole event reminded me that I graduated a year ago, and I can’t believe it’s already been that long – time really does seem to go faster the older you get. So, in honor of my reminiscent weekend, I thought I’d take a moment to appreciate the last year of my life.

Lots of change

The year after I graduated college can be summed up by the word “change.” I moved into my parents house for a few months, worked at Starbucks, got a job at a marketing company as a writer, moved into my own apartment and got a promotion. My personal life has also been filled with ups and downs, a roller coaster ride I’m finding always has a surprise turn.

I could say that the early 20s are a very challenging time (and they are), but being this young is also exciting. I can do whatever the hell I want with my life, it’s just a matter of going for it.

Things I still want to work on

While I am very proud of all I’ve accomplished, I know I have some work to do. I think I need to live more boldly than I have been. I tend to take the safe route in all areas of my life, including careers, relationships and creative endeavors. I’m always scared of failing or being rejected, and it prevents me from moving forward. Well, no more! The next 12 months will be defined by risks.

Big city gal

On another note, traveling to Michigan showed me how acclimated I’ve become to city life. I feel most comfortable surrounded by high rises, artisan restaurants, loud people and even louder cars. I like the energy and the opportunity. There’s so much to do and see in the city. Chicago is amazing. Tingles ran up my spine as I approached the skyline coming back Sunday night. Perhaps that’s all part of being young, or maybe I really do feel connected here.

Leave a Reply

