Victorian Outfit 2: Update

Completed SkirtWell I finished the skirt I was working on, sort of. I like the top (yellow) portion of the skirt the best, but I’m not sure I want to keep the bottom. It’s a piece of white fabric decorated with lace. I gathered it to attach to the bottom of the yellow part, and it also has a strip of horsehair braid to make it billow. I think it ended up being too stiff. I may swap it out for lighter fabric in a ruffle, stacked configuration. We’ll see. For now I’m going to leave it the way it is and move on to the overskirt. Maybe this skirt will look better with the overskirt. Costumes do tend to work best as a whole rather than in pieces.

Overskirt PatternThis is the pattern I’ll use for the overskirt. It uses a few interesting techniques that should be fun to try. I have a ton of fabric, but nothing that fits my vision. Looks like I’ll have to go fabric shopping soon – not that I mind. I want something light and perhaps sheer. I’ll figure it out once I’m looking at fabric. Material tends to inspire me.

Vest FabricI also plan to make a Spencer vest using the above fabric. It’s difficult to tell from the photo but the dark fabric is a rich green, and it will make the outside of the vest. The white patterned fabric will be the lining.

Leave a Reply

