After “Monuments Men”

monuments men ticketI just saw “Monuments Men” with my friend Ali, and I left feeling wistful. The movie itself moved sort of slow, but it got it’s point across – a point I agree with. Basically, the film sought to tell a story pushed aside by history while reminding us why art, in all its forms, is vital to society.

It begs the question, what gives meaning to life? What is immortal? And what’s worth protecting? I guess in some aspects, those questions are the same. While I don’t believe that value only comes from production, I do feel that the arts are indispensable. I am happy to be a part of the creative community and I walked away from “Monuments Men” with a renewed sense of purpose.

The only thing left is to figure out what it is I’m meant to say with my work. It’s all part of being a 20-something-year-old, really. I’ll hit the mark at some point, and for now, I’ll keep writing.

 

One thought on “After “Monuments Men”

Leave a Reply

