My New Year’s Resolution

We’re a few days away from 2014. A lot has happened for me in the last year and though some of it was hard, most of it was rewarding. I traveled to California in March, graduated college in May, was in my best friend’s wedding in July, got a full time job in September and moved into my own apartment in December – among other things.

One year ago, my 2013 resolution was to have a full time salary job and to move out. I accomplished both of those goals so I’m pretty proud of myself. I want to use that feeling of triumph, of “I did it,” to keep the ball rolling in 2014. Until this year, I was never one to set resolutions. But now that I found some things I really want, I think committing to getting them is an amazing opportunity.

In 2014 I want to start and finish a writing project. I don’t yet know what that means. I might be a novel, a short story, a graphic novel or some other thing, but in one year’s time I want to have completed a project that will bring me closer to my mountain. The first step, of course, is figuring out what it is I want to create. I suppose brainstorming can be a part of the whole journey. We’ll see.

So here’s looking ahead, hoping that my dreams to be creative writer will be closer next year.

Happy New Year’s everybody! I hope you chase your goals.

One thought on “My New Year’s Resolution

Leave a Reply

