Food as Fuel

I just watched a documentary about 2 obese and ill men who go on a juice fast. I enjoyed the film and it really got me thinking about my own health. I don’t own a car, which means getting to the grocery store is something of a task. As a result, I purchase more foods that last longer. AKA, more processed foods. I haven’t actively noticed any effects, but I miss a constant access to fresh fruits and vegetables. I’ll be moving in a few weeks and when I do, I’d like to readjust my lifestyle.

I used to live a vegan lifestyle, meaning that I did not eat any animal products whatsoever. This was my diet for 2 years. Then I got bored and added eggs, cheese, and fish back in. I know I’m not as healthy as I used to be. The times when I would normally eat veggies, I now have cheese or something else.

I suppose that documentary was successful because I am thinking about what I put in my body more than I was before watching it.

Leave a Reply

