What Am I Doing Again?

This summer I thought I had it all figured out. I would write sci-fi/fantasy and be content with writing popular fiction. Then I took a class. I always thought I was okay with simple work, but when my professor said my writing was good but not groundbreaking, I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Moping around for days, I started to wonder if I do want to do something more with my writing. The only problem is I don’t know what I want to do. Is my work going to call out society on its wrongs? Am I writing to entertain? Will my stories have morals? More importantly, am I better at fiction or non-fiction?

I guess the beauty is that I don’t really have to choose. Though I would like something to spring off of for my next project. Right now it feels like my writing career is sparkling in the distance. It could be a gem, or it could be some trash that’s just shinny. The only way to find out is to move forward.

One final thought. It feels like the world wants to divide literature from popular fiction. Like fantasy can’t be constructed of literary quality writing. I want to prove that notion wrong. I think that fantasy or science fiction can be comprised of excellent, even game-changing prose. I might not be the one to accomplish that goal, but I can try.

Leave a Reply

